Just a thankful heart.

It’s amazing what Veggietales can teach you. . .

I’ve never before seen this played out so simply.  Basically, this is how it works:

(1) I dwell on what we need, the to-do list, and the dishes in the sink, and I don’t feel God’s blessing on, well, anything really.

or (2) I thank God for everything that we have (a lot or a little), let the dishes sit for a while and He showers needs and even wants upon us. A deep satisfaction soothes it’s way over my sinful heart and I see Him in everything. The more I thank Him, the more I feel looked upon, important, and chosen.

I’ve come to realize that it has nothing to do with the amount of “blessings” or “stuff” we have, but more to do with our attitude towards whatever we already have.

This is probably sounding really simple to most of you. But I had to put it into words because, well, mostly, I just needed to read it back to myself.

This simple concept makes or breaks the true answer to the question, “how are you doing?”

On a different note (but not really…)

I’m not one for stereo-types, but this is what I’ve noticed:

Growing up in California, we were trained to rely on ourselves and not ask for charity.  An unspoken requirement of course and not from or to anyone specific. It’s just the culture. People don’t FEEL like they can give, because it might give the wrong impression or make someone feel inferior.  And people don’t FEEL like they can accept because they could possibly be a bother. It’s prideful come to think of it.  Here in Powell, people live with wide open hands. Between Zac and I, we’ve been offered fruit, veggies, meat, storage containers, lawn equipment, coffee, jewelry, bread, tools, full dinners, movie tickets, and so much more in just the past month.

The difference I see is that people here actually act on what they offer. We were taught to not take people up on their offers, as not to impose.  The vast majority of the population was just individuals that happen to live close by. This town feels like community. And good community breeds humility, I’ve learned. It’s people, living together, giving and taking regardless of when it’s necessary. If only to build relationships! It’s wonderful!

I never thought imposing and being imposed on would feel this comfortable.

All in all, a thankful heart is a happy heart.

Grateful always,

<3Sparrow

I thank God for this day,
For the sun in the sky,
For my mom and my dad,
For my piece of apple pie!

For our home on the ground,
For His love that’s all around,
That’s why I say thanks every day!

Because a thankful heart is a happy heart!
I’m glad for what I have,
Thats an easy way to start!

For the love that He shares,
‘Cause He listens to my prayers,
That’s why I say thanks every day!



-the thankfulness song, Veggietales.




Here’s some random photos of our life so far…


Comment here.

