Feed Me: zac’s diy clif bars.

I’m so excited to share this recipe with you!

So, this adventure started when my husband and I discussed buying Clif Bars. Then we looked at the prices. One per day would become be pretty expensive. But because he has a physical job where he has to remain fueled or …well, he might die, we had to think of something. Here’s where my mother’s cooking skills and my desire to be a Proverbs 31 wife kicked in. . .

After a few tries, I finalized my recipe for protein bars! My hubby loves them!

I preheat my convection oven to 350 degrees. I’m not sure what the equivalent is for regular ovens. Basically, you want it hot enough for all the ingredients to melt together, but you have to be careful because it burns really easily. (My husband was a good sport as I was perfecting this recipe.)

Wet Ingredients:

1 C peanut butter
1 C honey
1/2 C sugar (you can use other sweeter types. I just didn’t have any on hand.)
2-4 T of water

Dry Ingredients:
2 C whole oats (You can use instant oatmeal instead, but whole oats are heartier. Remember, we’re trying to make a bar that is equivalent to a small meal here!)

1/2 C each of flax seed, wheat germ, ground sunflower seeds, ground nuts (you can use anything you like. Walnuts, pecans, almonds, etc.)

1/2 C Protein powder (This is the power ingredient. But if you don’t have any, you can use hot cocoa instead!)

1 handful of dried fruit (I use whatever I have on hand. This time I had a few apricots and cranberries. Yum!)

Cinnamon to taste!

Mix all the wet ingredients in a small bowl. Add water until it has a whipped texture. You want to make sure it’s all stirred well. Set aside.
Mix all dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Pour in wet mixture (scrap out bowl with spatula, you’ll need all of it) and fold together until it has an even texture.
Now I press the mixture into a small cookie sheet covered in foil. Cooking spray isn’t needed, but you can use it if you want to.
Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Or until hardened.

Let cool and flip over cookie sheet. You can simply peel back the foil and viola! A sheet of protein bars! Cut up into 2 inch squares and wrap in plastic wrap so that their easy to grab on the go!

I hope you enjoy!

Feel free to ask me any questions here.

P.S. for those of you near a Winco, they have all of the dry ingredients for super cheap! Unfortunately, we don’t have one near us. But I have parents who travel and love me.

God bless!

Sparrow<3

Comment here.

