Just intimacy.

As I meditate on Psalms 27, one verse stands out to me.

“One thing have I asked of the Lord, that I will seek, inquire for, and insistently require: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord, in His presence, all the days of my life, to behold and gaze upon the beauty, the sweet attractiveness, and the delightful loviness of the Lord. And to meditate, consider, and inquire in His temple.” (amplified)

Written from a man that was named by God to be after His very heart, I ponder what intimacy The Lord and David shared. Now, as a married woman, I’m slowly beginning to see what true intimacy is really like. It’s not just sex and it’s not just knowing secrets about one another. Although those things are important and crucial to creating an environment that supports intimacy, they’re not the whole story. A good word that sums it up is delight. I delight so much in watching Zac eat, clean, read, and pray. I delight to see his grubby clothes walk through the door after a hard day. I delight in being able to reach over to him when I have a nightmare. I delight in him just because he is there.

Do you delight in the Lord? Do you sit and ponder His vastness and oneness? Do you long to gaze upon His beauty? Oh! If only I could see His face. What a glorious day that will be when everything is brought to the climax of its existence! When every knee will bow and every tongue proclaim that Jesus Christ is Lord!

David got this! He saw that God was great and powerful. He knew the scriptures. But the one thing He longed for was to lay at Jesus’ feet, admiring Him and worshipping Him! Maybe the only reason we are put through deserts is because God wants us to seek His beauty in the very soil of the land. Maybe He wants us to dwell upon His majesty and His overwhelmingly glorious presence in an empty place. Maybe He wants us to leave all we have and simply trust in His unfailing love for us. Maybe, just maybe, He simply wants intimacy with us.

So stop asking why you’re in this place and start asking, “What can I learn abut God here?” Be comforted! Knowing that God knows exactly what you’re struggling with and exactly how to heal you. But you first must seek to delight in His precious face!

…the very face that saved you.

Oh the things of God I long to mull over!

Sparrow<3

Comment here.

