Just young.

So, I started reading Jeremiah today. I saw something the other day that put Jeremiah and Timothy in the same youthful category, so I was curious. Jeremiah is the one that says to God when he’s called, that he is only a child. Now my commentary says he could be in his late teens to early twenties, but I did a little research and he was most likely early teens to mid teens. Remember, that a girl was to be married as soon as she became fertile, meaning that boys as well became men a lot younger than they do today. Think 13-16 years old.

Yet, he was called to preach to an unrepentant town. Imagine being his age and having to tell your whole town about the sins they’ve committed and the consequences for them! Imagine the strife he went through. The ridicule, the mockery. All while you knew that there was repentance on the other side!

In fact, it says in chapter 20 that, “I am ridiculed all day long; everyone mocks me. Whenever I speak, I cry out proclaiming violence and destruction. So the word of the Lord has brought me insult and reproach all day long.”

He went through years of being outcast for the calling God put on his life. Eventually having to flee from his home town and everything he knew when the Lord’s words became truth.

But what amazes me more, is his faith even in the tough times.

Maybe you have a son about his age. Can you imagine? Jeremiah, little Jr. High boy. Small hands and feet, small voice to match. Proclaiming in the streets through all the toil he’s endured, “but if I say, ‘I will not make mention of the Lord or speak anymore in His Name,’ in my mind and heart it is as if there were a burning fire shut up in my bones. Ad I am weary of enduring and holding it in; indeed, I cannot contain it any longer.” (Jeremiah 20:9 AMP)

Oh that we would have a fire like Jeremiah.

Make that your prayer today.

Love,
Sparrow<3

Comment here.

