Feed Me: meal planning.

Alright. I finally decided to go back to planning meals. I’m so bad at this, so I’m hoping that blogging it will help me remember and stick to it.

I have a lot of basic ingredients in my kitchen all the time.

Meat:
Chicken
Ground Turkey
Random meat from Mom and Dad’s

Pantry:
Black Beans
Kidney Beans
Wheat Pasta (Angel hair, rotini, lasagna noodles and penne are our favorites)
Cream of something soup
Sweeten condensed milk

Canned tomatoes

Canned Chilis
Peanut Butter
Honey
9 Grain Bread
Bisquick
Soft Whole Wheat Flour
Sugars
Bread crumbs
Cereal
Snacky foods (Pretzels, trail mix, popcorn, etc, oh and pop tarts when Zac lets me…)
White and Red Wine
Olive Oil/Grapeseed Oil
Various vinegars

Dairy:
Milk
Eggs
Cottage Cheese
Greek Yogurt
Butter

Other fridge:
Jelly
Stinky Cheese (Parmesan Cheese in the can)
Dressings and Random condiments

Other Freezer:
Broths in ice trays (fantastic idea, btw)
Berries
Veggies (peas, carrots, spinach, etc)
Pineapple Spears

Our veggies are hard to plan for because we get 2 Bountiful Baskets a month and they’re different every  time.

I can usually count on these veggies:
Spinach or some other type of lettuce
Squash (yellow and/or green)
Tomatoes
Peppers of some sort

Common fruits included are:
Pears
Apples
Bananas
Oranges (or grapefruit, cuties, or pummelos)
Lemons

When we get our bountiful baskets, I cut and wash it all up right away and put it all into containers and baggies. Then I put together 4-6 one-serving salads in mason jars, minus dressing. When one is used, I fill it back up with the pre-chopped veggies. Put all the toppings in the bottom then stuff the lettuce in the top. It’s fantastic for days out!

Juices:
Cranberry
Lemon

So from these basic staples I need to make a two week meal plan that can be alternated and mix around when we get bored.

Here we go…….

Comment here.

