Holding out.

“Did God actually say, ‘You shall not eat of any tree in the garden’?” And the woman said to the serpent, “We may eat of the fruit of the trees in the garden,  but God said, ‘You shall not eat of the fruit of the tree that is in the midst of the garden, neither shall you touch it, lest you die.’” But the serpent said to the woman, “You will not surely die. For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.” So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise, she took of its fruit and ate, and she also gave some to her husband who was with her, and he ate.” Genesis 2

One little false truth that was twisted around the serpent’s belly continues to haunt us today.

We believe that God is holding out on us. How often do we listen to that lie in some form or another?

“God knows that when you eat of it . . .” you will be better. You will feel happier. You will be satisfied. You will be like God.

This is exactly how the devil convinced himself that God was holding out on him,

You were blameless in your ways    from the day you were created,    till unrighteousness was found in you. . .You said in your heart,    ‘I will ascend to heaven;above the stars of God    I will set my throne on high;I will sit on the mount of assembly    in the far reaches of the north; I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will make myself like the Most High.’

How often do we think that way? I will do it myself. I can make myself better. I got myself to this place. I did this. I created. I cultivated. I, I, I . . . I can be God.

Jesus came to reiterate what God had wanted all along, for us to “Serve the Lord with gladness; come before His presence with singing. Know the Lord, He is God; it is He who has made us, and not we ourselves; We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.” Psalm 100.2-3


You see? He never wanted us to be alone, distraught, or frustrated. He never wanted to be separated from us. He never wanted us to think on an individual basis. He wanted to be our Shepherd, in a garden with His other creations, walking and talking with us for eternity. And He’s been fighting for that purpose since the beginning.

It’s time we focused on that.

-Sparrow<3


Comment here.

