Thank God it’s Monday: reminded.

Β© Photograph Copyright Zackary Higgins

Β© Photograph Copyright Zackary Higgins

I often have days where I’m reminded of exactly who I am. I’m reminded of my sins, my sorrows, my pain. I’m reminded of my failures & my shortcomings. And I’m reminded of why I relate so much with the sparrow.

Sparrows are weak. They’re small. They’re not flashy, or exceptionally beautiful. They flit around like nothing matters, with no direction, no purpose it seems. They survive, just to survive. What purpose is there?

There are days like today where I’m reminded of why the sparrows are so loved by God. I’m reminded of my art & why even the worst of my works, I can’t part with. I’m then reminded of God’s perfection in His creation. How what could be considered his worst work far, far outstretches my greatest masterpiece.

There are days like today where I’m reminded that there is a purpose for even the smallest of creatures. I’m reminded of my hierarchy from the creatures as a human created in God’s very image. How there is care taken each & every day to provide & uplift them, so then how much more, you & I?

There are days like today where I’m reminded what it feels like to humble my heart, time after time, moment after moment, pride after pride. I’m reminded of the greatness of the sacrifice that Jesus laid down for me. How He saved me, you & I.

There are days like today where I’m reminded that He descended into our world’s midst and died, renewing the sight behind our fogged lenses. I’m reminded of the grace that is hidden within humility in the shadow of His son. Grace is hidden in His precious son who, through His life and death and life again, has been slowly, steadily, & beautifully removing the evidences of the curse, little by little, replacing them with blessing upon blessing upon blessing.

There are days like today where I’m reminded of my purpose here. On this blog, on this earth. To engage the Holy Spirit, no, rather allow the Holy Spirit to intervene in my heart, my life, my love, & then to be so inspired as to write the words for you to read.

There are days like today where I’m reminded of your beautiful faces, gleaning from the things that I’ve experienced and me following right behind you doing the same thing. How we are designed to do this life together, full-throttle, all-in, every day.

There are days like today where I’m overwhelmed with thankfulness, not because it’s Monday, not because I’m fed, not because I’m healthy, but because I’m alive & I can feel. Not with skin and fingertips, no, but I’m reminded of the feelings of the soul. The real me, taking strides to know God, love God, seek God, & do His will. The real God, taking leaps and bounds to pull me evermore into His arms.

There are days like today where I’m overcome with the need to praise Him, lift up His Name, exalt Him on high. I’m reminded of my innate, human, fleshly need to drink in His love, especially after so long without a good gulp. How good are His waters on my tongue!

:Isaiah 12:
I will give thanks oh Lord, for though you were angry with me, your anger turned away, that you might comfort me.
Behold! God is my salvation; I will trust and I will not be afraid.
The Lord God is my strength and my song, He has become my salvation.
Sing praises to the Lord, let this be made known in all the earth.
Shout and sing for joy, oh child, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.

Today, I’m reminded of the goodness of the Lord God Almighty and for that, I am forever so intricately, desperately, and incandescently thankful.

What are you thankful for today?

-Sparrow<3

Comment here.

