Motherhood & stuff: babies are awesome.

Babies
 are 
awesome! 
My 
husband
 would
 disagree
 with 
me.
  He 
thinks
 babies
 are 
just
 “little
 pink
 Yoda’s 
that 
spew 
baby 
body 
fluids.”
 Well, he’s 
right
 about 
the
 spewing 
part, I suppose, 
but 
they 
are 
also 
amazing
 little 
creatures 
that 
can 
melt 
even 
the 
coldest
 heart
with 
one 
little
 smile.  
When 
they 
grasp 
your
 finger
 with 
a 
tiny 
hand 
or 
fall 
asleep
 in 
your
arms
 they
 are
 pure 
innocence 
and
 can 
almost 
make
 you
 forget 
about 
the
 troubles
 of 
the
 world.
 What
 an
 amazing 
gift!

Unfortunately, 
those 
“Gerber 
moments” 
are 
just 
that…
moments.
  In 
real 
life, 
the 
other
 22 
hours 
and 
37
 minutes
 of 
the 
day
 are
 filled
 with 
feeding,
 crying, 
dirty 
diapers, 
feeding,
 cleaning 
spit‐up
 off 
of 
the 
arm
 of 
the
 chair 
(…again), 
laundry, 
crying, 
diapers, 
bath
time,
 feeding, 
searching 
for 
the 
last lost 
pacifier, 
diapers, 
feeding,
 laundry. . . 
you
 get 
the 
idea.
 It’s
 amazing
 how
 one 
little
 critter
 can
 require 
so
 much.  
Babies
 rely
 on 
us 
for 
their
 every
 need.

Here 
comes 
the
 segway: 
we 
are 
God’s 
babies.  
Now
 don’t
 get 
me 
wrong,
 we
 can’t
 remain 
like 
infants
 in
 our
 knowledge
 and
 understanding 
of 
Christ 
(Hebrews
 5:
13‐14) 
but 
we
 must learn to 
rely
 on 
Him 
for 
our
 every need.

Philippians 
4:6
 says, 
“Do
 not 
be
 anxious
 about 
anything, 
but 
in 
every 
situation, 
by
 prayer
 and
 petition,
 with
 thanksgiving,
 present
 your
 requests
 to
 God.” 
Now,
 there’s
 a
 difference
 between
 a
 screaming 
baby 
that needs
 to
 be 
fed 
or 
needs a 
diaper 
change 
and
 one
 that 
just 
wants 
attention.  
We 
need 
to 
be 
wise 
about 
the
 petitions
 we 
bring 
to 
our 
Heavenly 
Father 
and 
make 
sure 
that we’re 
not 
mistaking 
our
 wants 
for 
needs.

When we
 don’t 
get 
what 
we
 want, if we’re not careful, 
we 
might 
be 
tempted
 to
 think 
He’s 
not 
listening to us.  
The
 cool
 thing
 is, 
unlike
 frazzled
 mommies
 and
 daddies
 who
 can’t
 always 
figure 
out
 what
 their
 babies
 are 
trying 
to 
tell 
them 
when
 they
 cry,
 our Heavenly Father 
knows 
exactly what 
our 
cries 
mean.
  He
 knows
 exactly
 what
 we
 need because He 
uniquely
 created 
each
 of 
us.


He
 knows
 our
 circumstances,
 our 
finances,
 our 
relationships, 
our 
schedules, 
our 
hurts,
 our 
hopes,
 our 
hearts.
  He
 knows 
how 
to
 sort
 through 
the
 swollen
 eyes 
and 
snotty 
nose
 to
 get
 to 
the 
root 
of
 the 
problem.
  Matthew
 6:8
 tells 
us 
that
 our
 Father 
knows 
what
 we
 need 
even 
before
 we
 ask
 Him. 
How
 cool 
is
 that?

I
 have 
to 
admit
 that
 there
 have
 been
 times
 when 
I 
have 
neglected 
to
 rely
 on
 God
 for
 my
 every need.
 Times
 when 
things 
were
 just 
clicking 
along 
and
 I
 didn’t 
really 
feel 
“in
 need” 
and 
it
 was 
easy 
to 
just 
kind
 of
 handle
 things
 on 
my
 own, to my own glory.  Of
 course 
the 
wheels
 would
 inevitably 
fall
 off 
of 
the 
wagon
 and
 I
 would 
be 
overwhelmed.
   I’ve 
had 
to 
humbly
 cry 
out 
for
 God’s
 forgiveness 
for 
my
 arrogance
 and 
for
 His 
saving
 grace
 to 
pull 
me
 out 
of
 whatever
 pit 
I 
found
 myself
 in.  
I’ve 
always 
been 
a
 self‐sufficient
 “get 
‘er
 done”
 kind
 of
 gal.  
It’s 
hard
 for
 me 
to
 rely
 on
 somebody
 else 
to 
meet 
a
 need.
  What
 I
 have 
to 
remember 
is
 that
 God 
isn’t
 just
 somebody
 else . . .He is God. Father. King of Kings.  

I 
suppose 
if 
He 
can
 create 
the
 universe 
and 
keep 
the
 world 
spinning
 on
 it’s
 axis,
 He 
can
 provide
 groceries 
or
 strength 
to 
put 
one 
foot
 in
 front 
of 
the 
other.  

I 
just 
have 
to 
lean 
into 
the 
promise 
of








 Philippians 
4:19, 
“And 
my 
God
 will
 meet
 all
 your 
needs
 according 
to 
the
 riches 
of
 His
 glory 
in 
Christ
 Jesus.” 
God
 wants
 to
 walk
 through 
all
 24
 hours of every
 day
 with 
us. 
He
 wants 
to 
share
 in 
those 
“Gerber 
moments”
 and 
He
 wants
 to 
help
 with 
the 
“laundry”.

Babies
 are 
awesome, because they
 rely
 on 
us 
for 
their 
every need 
without
 angst, 
without 
fear, 
without 
giving 
it 
a
 second 
thought.  
In light of that, I 
guess 
I 
had 
it 
wrong 
when
 as
 a 
kid 
I
 would 
get 
mad 
if 
someone 
called 
me 
a 
baby. 
Now, 
as 
I
 continue 
to 
grow
 in
 my 
walk 
with 
God, 
I 
want 
to 
be 
the 
biggest 
baby 
in 
the 
room.

-Lori

© Copyright Lori Higgins.

Lori is Zac’s mom and Lilah’s favorite mother-in-law. She’s been married to Lance for 23 years and lives in sunny California. She loves to spend her days outside fiddling and fixing things around their yard. Together, they love to spoil their kiddos (us!) in huge ways and we could never thank them enough. Throughout the year, you can always find her catching up on the latest sports game. She’ll definitely be the one to educate our little man on one of the most important topics in life: baseball!

One thought on “Motherhood & stuff: babies are awesome.

  1. Oh My Beautiful Daughter. You bless your Mama’s heart so much. I praise God every day for all of our six children and the blessing that each of you brings to our family. Now that you are a Grammy, you understand my love for all five of our grandchildren and now our Fletch filled such a hole in my heart when I needed it most.

Comment here.

