Feed Me: a twist on french toast.

20121229-142102.jpg

Along with all of the odd things that have happened to my body throughout this pregnancy, a really odd one has been my internal alarm. During the last few weeks before birth, I was on a schedule like clock work and wide awake at 5am, ready to start my day.

At the same time, my husband had some adjustments at work and began working earlier and driving farther, therefore getting up earlier in the mornings.

He absolutely loves it when I make him breakfast and hang out with him before work, so we’ve taken the opportunity most mornings this month to eat breakfast, do a short bible study, or just catch up together.

Because of all of these things, I’ve been trying to mix up what we eat for breakfast instead of just powering through a bag of cereal and a gallon of milk a week. (That gets expensive!)

This morning I felt like French toast, but Zac didn’t want something sweet, so I decided to experiment! I’ve also been trying in every way I can to add in as many veggies to nourish a growing baby. My experiment turned out really yummy!

Here’s the recipe:

2 eggs
1/4 c milk

Whisked together in a bowl.

4 slices of wheat bread

Dipped on both sides in the egg mixture and grilled on a skillet on both sides until light brown.

1 chopped tomato
Handful of spinach
Handful of mozzarella cheese

Placed on two of the slices and broiled for 5-10 minutes.

Hubby insisted that I toast the top sides, so I did that before I assembled the sandwiches.

Such a quick and filling breakfast!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Sparrow<3

Comment here.

