Motherhood & Stuff: holding tight to His words.

A lot of perspective shifts happens when you have a kid. I keep thinking over the example of a friend of mine: all she posts on her Instagram is pictures of her little one. I remember wondering before I was pregnant if that was all she did all day. After having the little bundle (that is now my entire life), I realize it is all we moms do all day (you should see my Instagram feed!). And besides that, after having such a miracle come into your life, what you had for lunch that day just isn’t that exciting any more.

One thing that has been on my mind lately is family history and our future legacy. I never much cared for the next generation before I had one of my own to teach. I selfishly didn’t spend my time worrying about the cause and effect of my actions on the world in 80 years. What do I care, I’ll be dead!

But that is the problem with our society, isn’t it?

There are multiple verses that speak on blessings and curses that are passed down through the generations. We have a responsibility to not only our children, but to young people everywhere. It’s an odd transition coming from youth into adulthood when you realize there’s a whole new group of people, younger than you, more educated than you, more up on the the times than you, and more able to effect change in their worlds than you are.

Deut. 6:5-9 has been my parents life verse for our family. Now that I have my own child, it means so much more. “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.”

What I love so much about this verse is it’s practicality. It doesn’t just say “love a lot, be graceful, be good, love Jesus, flowery, flowery, flowery” but it gives easy, practical examples of how to truly live as Christians.

Craig Groeschel says it best “Make spiritual conversations a part of how you do life.”

Put them on your heart: Meditate on scripture, purposefully get worship songs in your head, pray through your day, keep your body from sin so that your heart can love and be loved by God.

Impress them on your children: bring up those hard issues with your kids, read them bible stories, take everyday situations and relate them to Christ, tell them all the things that Jesus has done for them, tell them when you pray for them, tell them of God’s love for them and the joy it is to love Him back.

Talk about them when you sit: even on those lazy days or weekends when you’re just at home, recouping, bring up a prayer you’ve been praying, a sin you’ve been fighting, or a problem you’ve been struggling with. Bounce these things off of each other and then repent or confess or praise or worship or do whatever needs to be done (James 5:16).

Talk about them . . . when you walk along the road: car rides are the perfect concoction for conversation, bring up Jesus and His goodness! Bring up world issues and how God has and will redeem them. Take and walk and pick a scripture or passage to discuss.  Reminisce on times God has shown His love for you in the past.

Talk about them . . . when you get up and when you lie down: we all love pillow talk. Invite Jesus into it. With your spouse, with you parents, with your kiddos. Bring Him up first thing and last thing as He is the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End.

Tie them as symbols on your hands: our hands can accomplish many things. They can tear down and they can build up. When your child, your spouse, your friend looks at your hands, what do they see? I sometimes write scriptures or phrases on my arms, literally, to remind me throughout the day. Our goal should always be to carry God’s laws on our hearts so well that they can’t help but trickle down to our hands.

Bind them on your foreheads: we love our knowledge. We love having anything and everything on the other side of that tiny screen. Temper that and filter it through the word of God. Let our inner minds be an outward example of God’s grace (Philippians 4:8 it).

Write them on the door frames . . . and your gates: our houses should be En Gedi’s, oasis’ for the lost and broken. What our human hands have built and worked for, must be instruments of grace through hospitality and humility. It is a waste if our efforts were only put forth for ourselves (Luke 12:16-21). May our homes be open and always ready to pour out love on whomever enters!

Lord! May we bind your words upon our hearts. May we not be like the seed that was sowed on rocky ground and had the truth stolen from it, but may we engrave your words in our minds and souls so that they remain there always. Make our study times effective and our prayer time infectious. Tie us up in your grace and your truth and let our mouths ever praise and tell of Your Greatness.

“I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.” Psalm 119:11 (ESV)

Go with grace today and hold tight to His words, store them up like that old junk drawer, hide them away like that attic space, attach them to your marrow, and pull them out to use for His will.

-Sparrow<3

4 thoughts on “Motherhood & Stuff: holding tight to His words.

  1. You have some wonderful thoughts and suggestions here, Lilah. I really need this reminder to speak about my faith with my kids “all along the way.” And I’m like you, I write out my quiet time thought on my hand each day. Of course, on a hand, it gets washed off by about noon time! haha! I just love to remind myself throughout the day of what God wants to teach me and it’s a great conversation starter, as you’ve also discovered, too! Thanks for linking up with Wedded Wednesday today! It’s nice to meet ya!

    • I always have markings on me because I’m so forgetful! Glad I’m not the only one. Thanks for hosting the link-up! It’s such a great opportunity to meet and discuss with other women. Thanks so much for the comment! I’ll be keeping up with future posts of yours. :)

  2. That is such a neat way to look at that scripture! I especially loved the idea of literally writing scripture truths on your hands and arms; I may have to try that. First time on your blog, but it looks like I will be sticking around. :)

Comment here.

