Married: valentine’s day challenge {week 1}

As you know, I’ve decided to take the Valentine’s Day challenge from Courtney over at Women Living Well {follow this link to view my original post regarding the challenge}

Here was this week’s challenge:

“Week 1 Challenge – Take the Initiative!  Look for ways to praise your husband verbally.

Praise him in front of the kids, friends, family, co-workers, on facebook, tweet it – get praise out anyway you can! Try to mention something noteworthy he has done – in his role as provider, father, husband, lover, or friend. If the thought of trying to come up with one terrifies you, then pray right now that God will give you new eyes to see your husband as God does. Then open your mouth and say something kind and uplifting to your husband today and tomorrow and the next day until Valentine’s Day arrives!” {via women living well}

Here are some ideas of what I did to verbally praise my husband this week!

no. 1: praise him via social networks.

This one was the easiest one, so I did it first. A wall post, a tagged Instagram photo, and a few texts throughout the day. I actually do this kind of thing fairly often, so it wasn’t anything super special, but he always appreciates the effort.

no. 2: write him a letter.

For most of our dating and engagement, we lived far apart, so letter writing was something we did often. It’s been awhile though, so it was fun to pick it up again! This time, I hid it somewhere where he won’t find it for awhile, so we’re still waiting for the verdict on his reaction. I went a few pages ahead in both his private journal and his notebook for school and wrote him short, but sweet letters, telling him how much I appreciate him and love being married to him. He should be finding them pretty soon! (shhh…)

lacy_zack_esession_78

no. 3: offer to pray for him.

This one was the hardest for me. I get really nervous to pray in front of people, even my husband. But this week I really tried to work on it and not only comply when he asked me to, but to offer even when he didn’t. I definitely grew in that this week and he really appreciated it!

no. 4: tell him what I need.

This one was one I didn’t plan on. There have been a few situations in our marriage where I’ve just chosen to keep my mouth shut and not voice what it is I want. An example: I really like pop tarts. I don’t mention that at the grocery store because I choose not to. And that’s okay, because I know what I’ve chosen. But this week I was hit with a few things that I actually needed from my husband. I hadn’t mentioned them to him and had become bitter over them because of that. While my husband was clueless about what I needed, I thought I was being “selfless” by not asking. When I finally came out about the things I needed, he gladly accepted the fact that I have needs and we were able to work together to fulfill them. While it may seem selfless to not ask at first, it’s actually very selfish to expect my husband to read my mind. By telling him what I need, he’s able to be a better husband, and that makes him feel like a million bucks!

no. 5: put my phone down.

This one doesn’t really count because it’s an omission, but I had to mention it. There have been a few times over the past few months that Zac will be telling me something and I’ll be on my phone (doing nothing of importance) and I’ll get so distracted that the next thing I hear and comprehend is some odd sentence about “elephants dancing in purple pudding” in an attempt to get my attention again. Point being, sometimes I put whatever’s on my phone above my husband, but not this week! He has important things to say and this week I purposefully put my phone down, looked him in the eyes, and listened to him.

All in all, we had a really great week! I’m looking forward to pouring a new mixture of praise on my muffin puff next week! :D

Did you take the challenge? What things did you come up with? I’d love to hear!

Thanks for stopping by!

-Sparrow<3

Comment here.

