Faithful.

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.”
Job 1:21 NIV

God is so faithful. He has proven it over and over again throughout the Bible and throughout out my own life. He is unshakable, unchanging and unrelenting in His faithfulness. In good times and bad, He is the same. If His faithfulness depended on my response to my circumstances, let’s just say I’d be in a world of hurt right now. Thankfully it doesn’t. I look at Job and the unimaginable suffering he endured and yet he chose to praise God for His faithfulness. I wonder if I could do that.

On January 12th my Aunt Judy died after a very long struggle with alcohol addiction. She was my mom’s baby sister. For years I watched Aunt Judy rehab and relapse until she finally gave in to the desire and need for the alcohol. I also watched my mom struggle to help her. She counseled and prayed and she was there for her time after time. She did what she could until she finally had no choice but to make the agonizing decision to let go.

Even though we all knew what was inevitable, it was still extremely difficult when Aunt Judy died. My mom had already let go of her precious baby sister a year or so before and yet when the moment came, she grieved. This was her sister and the wound of her death was deep and painful.

God is so faithful. In the midst of my mom’s grief He made His presence known in supernaturally unmistakable ways. He reached down and gave her the warmest, deepest hug at just the right moment. He orchestrated unexplainable events that brought comfort only He could provide and He sent people across her path who encouraged and supported her exactly when she needed it.

On December 30th, about two weeks before Aunt Judy died, my grandson, my mom’s great-grandson, Fletcher Theophilus Higgins was born. This little creation filled our hearts to overflowing. We didn’t know that in the midst of our celebration over this new life there would be the sadness of the end of another, but God knew.

A few days after Aunt Judy’s memorial service, my mom and I were talking and she shared all of the ways God had shown Himself to her in the days before. During worship at her women’s Bible study at her church they were singing Matt Redman’s “Blessed Be You Name”.

You give and take away. You give and take away. My heart will choose to say, Lord Blessed Be Your Name

God is so faithful. He knows who we are and what we need and He supplies our needs even before we ask. God knew Aunt Judy would die and leave a tremendous hole in my mom’s heart but He also knew Fletcher would be born and would fill up that hole. I am so thankful for my mom and the amazing example of faith she provides. She has taught me so much over the years but I was reminded again by watching her through this experience that If you truly rely on God for your daily bread, He will provide in ways you cannot imagine.

God thank you for being faithful to me even though I falter and doubt and struggle and sin. You have my back! You give and take away but my heart will choose to say LORD blessed be your glorious name.

-Lori

sparrow sig

Be sure to click like on Just a Sparrow’s Facebook page and subscribe via email to stay updated! Sharing is caring!

2 thoughts on “Faithful.

Comment here.

