Motherhood: this one is Mine.

I’m so honored to welcome Auntie Mimi to the blog once again! She has some great insight today that touched me so much, and I pray will touch you as well! -Sparrow

There is a song by MercyMe called, “Spoken For”. I’ve always loved this song, it’s always spoken to my heart about the idea that I belong to God… But we sang it in worship last night and it struck me at a deeper level than it ever has before. Having a son of my own (and a daughter on the way!) I am much more prone to seeing God as a loving parent. Thinking of God this way has helped me a lot as I raise my son. Jesus gives me patience for my son by reminding me of how patient God has been with me. In light of all of this, there is one phrase in the song that says, “To hear you say ‘this one’s mine’”. All I could imagine was a scenario where someone was trying to permanently take my children from me, and I place my hand across them and say, “Nope, these one’s belong to me.” And that’s that. No arguments, no persuasion could ever take them out of my grasp, there is nothing in the world that would ever make me let them go. NO WAY! You couldn’t give me enough money or power or possession for me to give up my parental rights to them. They are mine, and I love them more than I have ever loved anyone before.

Then I realized: that’s exactly how God feels about me. John 10:27-28 says, “My sheep listen to My voice; I know them and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.” Amen! Thank you Jesus! God as Father is such a comforting thing for me. Luke 11 is a fantastic passage on the fact that God loves us as sons. It’s where Jesus talks about worldly fathers who love their children and give them what they ask for when it is with good intentions. “Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead?” (verse 11) Preposterous! Then Jesus gently points out, “If you then though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!” The Holy Spirit is about the best gift God could give us, it’s His Spirit indwelling us and guiding us everyday!

God gave up His one and only Son, turning His back on Him, and placing all of our sins on His shoulders. I don’t know if I could do that with my own son or daughter. God has truly shown His love for us through pursuing us and providing His only child for us!

I can so clearly see through these passages how God is using my son to teach me lessons about my relationship to Jesus. He adopted me, and now I am his child. When I accept Jesus, I now have what my son’s Jesus storybook bible calls, “God’s Never Stopping, Never Giving Up, Unbreaking, Always and Forever Love.” God disciplines those He loves, those He calls sons (Hebrews 12:7-8). So, when you are in the midst of discipline, dear one, be encouraged. God wouldn’t be disciplining you if He didn’t love you! Take this time to see where He is trying to build your character, and embrace His plan for you.

When I accept Jesus, I now have God’s Never Stopping, Never Giving Up, Unbreaking, Always and Forever Love.

When I come to judgment in the end, I want to know that Jesus is going to be there to vouch for me, and for our relationship. I picture myself approaching the throne, and Jesus coming down to get me and telling His Father, “This one is mine”. He will wink at me, and I will nuzzle myself into his armpit as we walk into eternity. The thing that breaks my heart is to think He would turn to me and say, “I never knew you” or for Him to turn to one of my children, or my husband, or my friends and say, “I never knew you.”

My prayer is that we will all choose to know Him here and love Him here and serve Him here. So that when that day comes and we’re there, we hear him say, “This one is mine, well done good and faithful servant!” (Matthew 25:21)

-Auntie Mimi

Mimi Eckerdt is a stay at home mom and wife. She and her husband, Preston, own their own catering business in Powell, Wyoming. She spends her days crafting and cooking beautiful meals for her family and playing with her one-year-old son, Preston Blain. They are also currently preparing for their daughter who is making her debut this summer!

 

Want to stay updated? Let me count the ways:

one. visit and like my Facebook page.
two. follow me on Twitter: @JASparrowBlog.
three. request me on Instagram: @JustASparrowBlog
four. join my circles at Google+by clicking here.
five. leave a comment below.

I can’t wait to hear what you have to say! Sharing is caring!

Comment here.

