unloved: the life of Leah | God saw her.

This post is apart of my 31 days of writing challenge where I am zooming in on the life of Leah. How she was unloved & hated, but God saw her. How she was jealous & fearful, but God honored her. We can learn a lot from Leah, so won’t you join me? To stay updated, please follow my facebook page here. To read the biblical account of Leah’s life, see Genesis 29 & on.

To view previous posts, click here.

Screen Shot 2013-10-02 at 11.15.52 PM20131004-103347.jpg

“When the Lord saw that Leah was hated, He opened her womb.” Genesis 29:31

The Lord saw that Leah was hated.

Our God, friends, is a compassionate God. Leah was hated, resented, and not loved very well. Her earthly needs went by the wayside and real prejudices were built up against her.  One thing we learn about our Father in Leah’s story is that He is in the intricacies, the details, and the emotions. He sees us, even when we are missing the things that we desire, to be known and loved. In Leah’s heart of hearts, as a new, hopeful bride, all she wanted was that loving high that should follow every honeymoon, and then a solid marriage based on friendship that could easily be cultivated into intimacy. All this little girl wanted was for the desires that God placed in her heart, to be filled. In the end, she did not get any of it, no affection, no love, no lavishing, and God saw her. We need to remember this, that even when we face trials and hardship, rejection and prejudices, our God does not simply turn His face away, but He watches us, every single flicker of pain that crosses our faces, knowing that one day, He will use it for our good. Do not misunderstand me, God does not wish any harm or hardship on His children, but He is wise enough to know when to step in and when to allow the world to remind us of it’s temporal existence.

He opened her womb.

 There is definitely a lot of fuel being added to the idea of a prosperity gospel these days. The movement is huge, and while it fails in one crucial point, it’s important to keep a balanced idea of who God is. The Prosperity Gospel is defined by Wikipedia as “Prosperity theology is a Christian religious doctrine that financial blessing is the will of God for Christians, and that faith, positive speech, and donations to Christian ministries will always increase one’s material wealth.” What is the biggest thing that is fatally wrong with this idea (although I could make lists and list) is the quality that it projects on God. He is not a genie-in-a-bottle who reacts based upon cause and reaction. In fact, God is much more involved in our lives than this idea portrays of giving and getting. Possibly one scripture where this doctrine gets the idea of give-and-receive prosperity is from Malachi 3:10 where God says, “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.” But we have taken this idea and turned it into “What can I get from God?” instead of, humbly and correctly realizing our place in this huge story by saying, “God, I give you all to do with what you please with.” In our pride, we diminish God’s name to a controlled substance.

Sometimes God’s plans for us include financial gain. But sometimes, in Leah’s case, financial gain would not have touched her deepest desires. God, in His sovereignty, along with His incredible idea of childbearing, knew that we women fall in love with our children. Whether or not our love is displayed exactly as we would have it, or whether it is lost somewhere in the curfews and the spankings and the worry, the drive behind any mother’s actions ultimately leads back to the fact that mothers are inherently crazy about their kids and above all else, desire the best for them. God knew that even if He could not cause Jacob to love his wife, He could bless Leah’s life with a new type of love. Leah experienced a motherly love that went beyond wedding bells and disappointed expectations, into a love that surpasses all realms of existence and will follow us into eternity. The love that a parent has for their children is not a choice, but a sustained reality. God wanted Leah to understand the undying love a Father had for his daughter, so He gave her seven little gifts that would remind her everyday of just how strong that love was.

Leah’s life was defined by the love her Father had for her, who loved her enough to see her and give her the blessings of children. Watch, everyday, for 31 days, as we get into her story and walk with her as her feet trod aside a God who saw her.

note: I am doing my best to get the word out to everyone who could benefit from the Unloved series | a peek into the life of Leah, but I need your help! Please share away on your social media(s) of choice below, tell your friends, and don’t be afraid to join in the conversation in the comments below. xo!

sparrow sig

Want to stay updated? Let me count the ways:

one. visit and like my Facebook page.
two. follow me on Twitter: @JASparrowblog.
three. request me on Instagram: @mrslilahhiggins
four. join my circles at Google+by clicking here.
five. leave a comment below.

Want to leave feedback? Join in on the conversation by commenting at the bottom of this post!

I can’t wait to hear what you have to say!

I am linking up at The Nesting Place’s 31 day writing challenge: inspiration & faith.

I am linking up at Proverbs & Pacifiers – Babies & Beyond.

2 thoughts on “unloved: the life of Leah | God saw her.

  1. I love this so much. Before I had my son I didn’t believe anyone when they said I’d instantly love him. But when I gave birth to him and he was placed in my arms, the love, the adoration, the pride I have for this little person is boundless, and I know God has blessed me beyond what I deserve.

    Her story just really resounds in my heart and I’m glad you’re doing this.

    • Oh girl, mine too! I am so glad that God allowed her story to be told & held onto for this many years. She is inspiration to women everywhere.

      Thank you for your sweet comment! I, too, had that experience with my son, not REALLY falling for him until I held him. And it gets stronger everyday!

      I am so happy for your feedback. It is such a blessing! Thank you, truly.

Comment here.

